Fall in the ‘Ville

Posted on October 1, 2010

0



Fall is here. The sidewalks by the Kennedy Elementary School on Elm Street are bustling with kid and parents during the morning drop off. The leaves have started to change, my neighbors made me an apple crumble, and it’s the time of year when our thoughts turn to work, school and gathering at home with family and friends.

Maybe it’s because I just returned from a weekend in Vermont, but I’m in full fall mode. I want to cook again and go on hikes in the Fells. Business has picked up as well as we move out of summer vacation mode and into fall work mode. If you have questions about the fall market, current inventory, or when is a good time to buy or sell in this area, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Here are some exciting upcoming fall events in the area:

Boston Local Food Festival: Saturday, October 2nd, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM, Boston Waterfront at Fort Point Channel

Davis Square Oktoberfest: Sunday, October 3rd 12:00 – 6:00 PM, at the corner of Chester and Elm (by Redbones)

The Fifth HONK Fest: October 8th – 10th, Davis Square. I’ll post more on this as the time approaches but this is one of my absolute favorite annual Somerville events. Activist street bands dressed in costumes and taking over Davis Square – what’s not to love?!

Local Farmer’s Markets: Most local markets continue through October. Farmer’s markets are great places to stock up on vegetables for roasted root vegetables, local cheese, or apples for crisps, tarts, and pies. Yum!

Wishing you a happy and prosperous fall!

(Photo Credit: This is a photo I took of one of my favorite trees in the area on the corner of Linnaean Street and Agassiz Street in Cambridge in front of the Cooper-Frost-Austin House.)